top of page

Welcoming Two New Priests to OLA!

Dear OLA Family,


I am pleased to inform you that this weekend Father Ed and I will welcome two of our fellow Marists into our new home. These priests will serve as Parochial Vicars, celebrating sacraments and participating in parish ministry.


Father John Ulrich, SM is a familiar face at OLA, having served here in the 1980s as his first assignment. He will be joined by Father Kevin Duggan, SM. Father Duggan will arrive this weekend, but then head out of town for a few weeks to visit family. He will begin his minisry at OLA early in the new year.


You can learn more about both men below.


I hope you will join me in offering them a warm OLA welcome!


Yours in Mary, Our Mother,

Father Jim



Father Kevin Duggan, SM I was born in Brooklyn, New York in 1957 to Jim and Betty Duggan.

I’ve been with the Marist Society of Mary since 1971 when I entered our minor seminary – Marist Prep in Penndel, Pennsylvania. I professed my first vows in 1981 and attended Catholic University for my MDiv degree. I was ordained in May of 1986 in our Chapel in Washington, DC, and since then have lived all over the country working with high school and college students in high schools, colleges, and campus ministry settings. I did spend nine years teaching and working in Campus Ministry at Marist School, Atlanta (1987 – 1996). So while I’ve been gone for many years, I am familiar with both Our Lady of the Assumption and Marist School. I’m looking forward to being with you, and praying for a good and easy transition.


Father John Ulrich, SM


I am a native of New Jersey.



After high school I entered the Marist College Seminary in Bettendorf, Iowa earning a degree in history and philosophy. After the Novitiate I professed my vows as a Marist in 1972 and went on to earn a MA degree in Theology from the University of Notre Dame.


I spent many years as a teacher at Grey Nun Academy in Yardley PA, Marist School, Atlanta, North Cambridge Catholic in MA, Sacred Heart in Austin, TX, Saint Michael’s Academy Austin TX, Bishop Reicher Catholic HS in Waco, TX and Notre Dame Prep in Scottsdale, AZ.


My parish assignments included Our Lady of the Assumption in Atlanta (my first assignment as a priest) and Our Lady Star of the Sea in Santa Cruz, CA. I have been involved in College Campus Ministry at Baylor University in Waco, Texas, California Poly Technic State University in San Luis Obispo CA and most recently at Marist College Poughkeepsie NY.


This is my third assignment to Atlanta and it’s really like coming home.


0 comments

Comments


bottom of page