top of page

Welcome to our New Director of the PSR Program/Children's Faith Formation

It is with great pleasure that I announce the hiring of Elizabeth Piper as our new Director of the Parish School of Religion. Elizabeth has a wealth of experience having worked as the CGS Coordinator for Saint Jude the Apostle; Adult Formation Leader; Director of Catechesis at Mary Our Queen and in many other roles. She is presently the Co-Leader of World Marist Laity Formation and she is very involved with the Marist School community.


- Father Jim


 

Welcome to the OLA family, was the first email that I received after saying yes to the position of Director of Faith Formation for Children. I am so thrilled to join the staff at OLA and to rejoin the community. My name is Elizabeth Piper, I grew up in the foothills of North Carolina in a very small town, which is where my accent comes from. My four children and my husband all grew up in Atlanta. My two boys went to OLA school where I spent a lot of time volunteering at the front desk which we lovingly called Judy Duty. Coming back to OLA feels like coming home.

1995 began my work in faith formation by saying yes to bring snacks for Sunday School, soon becoming an assistant teacher and by October of that year I was the lead teacher. Since I had gone through RCIA with a wonderful new young priest named David Tally, I understood the value of continuing my formation. During my first year as a catechist, I went to formation with the Archdiocese that was offered to catechists, to develop my knowledge of the faith to prepare me to pass this faith on to the children. Through research I found a program that offered an incredible experience for the child called Catechesis of the Good Shepherd (CGS) which I brought into the Archdioceses. Over the next 25 years I learned how to present in this method, worked with children and became a national and international trainer with a Master Certification in Faith Formation. Since 2005 I have worked with the Archdiocese of Atlanta training catechists and developing adults in their faith so that they can bring it home to their children. I have worked with children from 3 to 18 years of age and adults of all ages. Most recently completing Master Certification in Adult Faith Formation through the University of Dayton.


All of this has led me back to OLA to provide formation for our children, parents and catechists. I am passionate about providing opportunities for people of all ages to develop their own personal faith.


Email me any time at epiper@olachurch.org.


Elizabeth Pipe


 

Elizabeth will be hosting a Zoom Spirituality Course -In His Spirit- for St. Jude and invites members of OLA to join in! The Course will be based on the bookIn His Spirit."Using Fr. Richard Hauser’s book, we will explore the 6 stages of spirituality and how it develops from one stage to another. Come with an open heart ready to grow in your love for God as we pray, listen to God and grow."  


The Course will be for 7 Tuesdays beginning June 9 at 7pm - if you would like the link to join in, email our Communications Director at astephens@olachurch.org.


r

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page