top of page

Former Atlanta Archbishop Elevated to Cardinal





Dear Friends,


As you may have already heard Pope Francis has elevated our former Archbishop - and current Archbishop of Washington DC - to a Cardinal. He will be the first African-American Cardinal from the United States.


Here is the message that parish staff received from Archbishop Hartmayer this morning to announce the news:


"Peace and all good!


The Church rejoices today as Pope Francis named my predecessor, Archbishop Wilton D. Gregory, Archbishop of Washington, D.C., to the College of Cardinals. Archbishop Gregory is the first African American bishop to serve in this capacity.


I know Archbishop Gregory to be a good shepherd and a thoughtful leader. I sent him my congratulations this morning on behalf of our entire archdiocese as well as the bishops of the Province of Atlanta. I assured him of our prayers and our joy. This appointment is a well-deserved recognition of his dedication to and love for the universal Church."


You can find more information in the Georgia Bulletin - click here.

I have uploaded a number of photos from his many, many visits to OLA and other iteractions with members of our community if you would like a stroll down memory lane. You don't have tho have a Facebook account to view our page - just click here.


I want to share with all of you one of my favorite memories of the AB - when he accepted the youth group's Ice Bucket Challenge! See the video by clicking here


Yours in Christ,

Anne Stephens, Communications Director


0 comments

Comments


bottom of page